Ludlow Arts: Classical

Ludlow Orchestra
Ghamal Khamis

Saturday 18 May 2024


St Laurence, Ludlow

Gamal Khamis: piano
Claire Tocknell: leader
Jonathan Lyness: conductor

Kodály: Dances of Galánta
Grieg: Piano Concerto in A minor, Op.16
Nielsen: Symphony No.1 in G minor, Op.7

For this uplifting and romantic spring programme the Ludlow Orchestra welcomes renowned pianist Gamal Khamis for one of the most popular piano concertos of all time, that by Norwegian composer Edvard Grieg, composed when he was just twenty.

This is followed by Danish composer Carl Nielsen's joyful and beautifully crafted first symphony, written when he was just twenty-seven but already demonstrating all of the power and expression that imbues his later symphonies.

The concert opens with Zoltán Kodály's ever popular Dances of Galanta, full of Hungarian folk melodies with their syncopations and gypsy rhythms.

Tickets from Ludlow Assembly Rooms box office HERE

« back to events