Ludlow Arts: Classical

Dvořák and Brahms
Ludlow Orchestra

Saturday 21 May 2022


St Laurence, Ludlow

Ludlow Orchestra

Matthew Sharp: cello
Claire Tocknell: leader
Jonathan Lyness: conductor

Dvořák: Cello Concerto in B minor, Op.140
Brahms: Symphony No.4 in E minor, Op.98

This bold, romantic programme features two major blockbusters from the late nineteenth century. Dvořák composed his big-hearted cello concerto during his three-year stay in America immediately after completing his Symphony No.9 From the New World. It was premièred in London in 1896, since when, it has been widely performed, becoming universally loved and admired for its beauty and its passion. The orchestra is delighted to welcome the internationally acclaimed cellist Matthew Sharp to perform this glorious work.

Brahms's mighty fourth and final symphony caused much anguish for the composer and was written over two consecutive summers in the mid 1880s. It is a work of contrasts, from its clear and expressive first movement, to its gently melancholic second movement, to the fiery energy and exuberance of its scherzo third movement. The extraordinary final movement — a Passacaglia consisting of thirty variations and coda — provides a formidable and powerful conclusion to the symphony.

Tickets from Ludlow Assembly Rooms box office and HERE

« back to events