Ludlow Arts: Classical

Ludlow Orchestra
Ludlow Orchestra

Saturday 20 November 2021


The Space at St Laurence

Alexandra Callahan: bassoon
Ceri Essex: leader
Jonathan Lyness: conductor

Mozart: Symphony No.40 in G minor, K550
Weber: Basson Concerto Op.75
Beethoven Symphony No.1, Op.21

In just a few short weeks during the summer of 1788 Mozart, then in his early thirties, completed his final three symphonies – Nos 39, 40 and 41. The 40th, in G minor, is perhaps the most popular, full of angst, authority and high drama — one of his truly great masterpieces.

Beethoven would have been just 17 at the time, and a decade later had already begun work on his own first symphony, premiered in 1800 to the astonishment of audiences with its groundbreaking opening and teasing final movement.

Eleven years later in 1811 the opera conductor and composer Carl Maria von Weber composed his bassoon concerto and it is one of the two bassoon concertos (the other being Mozart's) most commonly performed today. Ludlow Orchestra are delighted to welcome Alexandra Callanan as soloist and, with no live performances for two years due the pandemic, the orchestra are thrilled to be back at St. Laurence's, once again.

« back to events