Ludlow Arts: Classical

Ludlow Arts: Classical

Ludlow Orchestra

Saturday 16 May 2020 at 7:30pm


St Laurence, Ludlow

Alexandra Callanan: bassoon
Claire Tocknell: leader
Jonathan Lyness: conductor

Prokofiev: Symphony No.1 in D major, Op.25, Classical
Mozart: Bassoon Concero in B♭ major, K191
Beethoven: Symphony No. 3 in E♭ major, Op.55, Eroica

2020 marks the 250th anniversary of Beethoven's birth and so the Ludlow Orchestra joins the celebrations with a performance of perhaps his most groundbreaking work, the colossal third symphony. This landmark work shattered all previous notions of what a symphony could be, providing the turning point between the ‘classical’ era of the 18th century and the new ‘romantic’ era of the 19th century.

The Russian composer Sergei Prokofiev harked back to Haydn when he composed his first symphony, the first of many twentieth century works composed in a neoclassical style. At less than a third of the length of the Eroica, it is joyful, witty, quick and to the point, and remains one of the composer's most popular works. To complete the programme we welcome Alexandra Callanan to perform Mozart's equally compact and joyful bassoon concerto.

Tickets: £12 (under 19s free) from Ludlow Assembly Rooms, online, HERE The Wool Shop, members of the orchestra or at the door.

Alexandra Callanan Alexandra Callanan

Jonathan Lyness Jonathan Lyness

Beethoven Ludwig van Beethoven

LAC logo