Ludlow Arts: Classical

Ludlow Arts: Classical

Shropshire Journey

Saturday 15 February 2020 at 1:00pm

St Laurence, Ludlow

Ulrich von Hecker: violin
David Gaukroger: piano
Kim Begley: narrator

Stravinsky: Suite Italienne
Gaukroger: Shropshire Journey
first public performance
Schubert: Sonatina in A minor

This concert features two works from the standard repertoire for violin and piano with the première of David Gaukroger's narrated piano work Shropshire Journey.

David Gaukroger writes: A Shropshire Journey is a set of six piano paraphrases on Housman poems. The idea developed out of a theatre piece, Blue Remembered Hills, featuring Timothy West and John Nettles, for which I wrote the music. Blue Remembered Hills played at the Birmingham Rep and Malvern Theatre among other venues and portrayed Housman as a man of many contradictions: both a classical scholar and a deeply sensitive lyrical poet. Central to the paraphrases is an attempt to capture the sense of longing and loss in the midst of pastoral beauty that typifies Housman's work.

Stravinsky's second period begins with the ballet, Pulcinella, written in 1920. Its neo-classical style contrasts with earlier works such as Firebird and Petrushka. The Suite Italienne is an arrangement in six movements using ideas from the ballet.

Schubert wrote a set of three Violin Sonatas in 1816 at the age of 19, though they were only published after the composer's death, and given the opus number 137. To reflect their modest size they were re-titled sonatinas. The second sonatina, in A minor displays the composer's genius for melody in all four movements but is at its most developed in the second movement: Andante.

Unreserved seating
Free: retiring collection

David Gaukroger
Ulrich von Hecker
Kim Begley