Ludlow Arts: Classical

Ludlow Orchestra

Saturday 11 November 2017 at 7:30pm

Ludlow Assembly Rooms

Ludlow Orchestra
Leader: Claire Tocknell
Conductor: Thomas Payne

Butterworth: A Shropshire Lad
Vaughan Williams: The Lark Ascending
Vaughan Williams: Symphony No.5 in D major

On Armistice Day, Ludlow Orchestra perform a commemorative concert of music and poetry. Pieces by Ralph Vaughan Williams and George Butterworth, the two composers most closely associated with World War I, are interspersed with poems by Oswestry born poet, Wilfred Owen and honorary Shropshire Lad, AE Housman.

A Shropshire Lad, Rhapsody for Orchestra by Butterworth, is inspired, of course, by AE Houseman's poem, which he wrote in reference to The Boer War of 1899 — 1902. An extract from this concert's programme notes explains some of the background to Vaughan Williams's beautiful and ever-popular work, The Lark Ascending: Vaughan Williams halted work on the piece when he joined the army in 1914 and it did not receive its first performance until 1920. His wartime experiences had heightened his nostalgia for a world that was fast disappearing and in 1919 he returned to the score of The Lark Ascending, editing and orchestrating it in recollection of that pre-war world. Our soloist on this occasion is our very own conductor, Thomas Payne, whilst double bassist, Richard Walker takes up the baton.

After the interval the orchestra will perform Vaughan Williams' Symphony No. 5 in D. Again from our programme notes: Perhaps the long gestation of this symphony explains the composer’s recourse to an earlier, more peaceful, pastoral style. Certain unifying features, notably the repeated appearance of rising 4ths, the cyclic structure of each movement and the reappearance of the opening material as the symphony nears its end, contribute to its overall sense of repose, in contrast to the dissonant and aggressive landscape of Vaughan Williams's 4th Symphony.

Tickets, £12 (u16 £ 1) from Ludlow Assembly Rooms Box Office, online HERE or at the door

Ludlow Orchestra

Vaughan Williams
LAC logo